An invitation

to join me in studying about Jesus’s life during Lent this year.  You can access a reading plan of a few chapters a day at Bible Gateway and tune in every few days to see what I’m thinking about the reading… and let me know your thoughts as well.  (I know myself too well to commit to daily reading *and* daily blogging!)

While I’m issuing an invitation, I invite you to do something to commemorate Lent this year.  I did not grow up knowing a thing about Lent or acknowledging it in any way… so some of you out there may have more insight than I… but I have been intrigued by the idea since I learned of it.  Although Lent is traditionally about sacrificing something you enjoy in acknowledgement of Jesus’s sacrifice for us, I have been reminded this year that the real key is replacing that which you gave up with something better. I love the idea of focusing on adding in the positive instead of eliminating the negative… and the fact that what ultimately happens is that the negative is eliminated anyway. I’ve come across people this year who are planning on sacrificing time they would spend doing other things to bless those around them through writing letters, or spending one on one time with family members, or improving their home environment. For that matter, even this relatively simple promise I’ve made to spend a little more time in Jesus’s presence learning of his life is a step towards the positive.   I know that time that was formerly wasted will be spent in a good way.

Join me! And, if any of you parents of littler ones happen to have The Beginner’s Bible , I discovered tonight that there are 39 stories about Jesus’s life… so your little ones can join mine in learning about Jesus’s life too!   I’m sure they will have some interesting thoughts along the way as well. 🙂

Looking forward to journeying with some of you…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Krista on February 18, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    I`ve never actually done anything for Lent, but have considered it recently. When does it start, and when does it end?

    Krista (from Food Board)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melody on February 18, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Krista, it started yesterday with Ash Wednesday and ends on Easter Sunday. My opinion is it is never too late to start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

