Monday Menu Planning 4/5/10-4/11/10

Update on last week — we did really well… the only meal I planned and didn’t cook was meatloaf and we used that meat for hamburgers over the weekend and the green beans I’d cooked to go with it for green bean casserole for Easter! Went out to eat once over the weekend which we are trying to avoid… but overall we’re doing better than we used to!

Looking to this week… the high for tomorrow is 84 degrees… I’m a little scared of what August will be like! So… assuming it doesn’t rain… tomorrow sounds like a great day for cooking OUTSIDE! No good sales at the store and lots of chicken in the freezer, so here’s the plan so far:

Monday:

  • Grilled Chicken
  • Potatoes of some sort (we have potato salad in the refrigerator, instant in the pantry and actual potatoes on hand too… so I’ll see what I feel like then)
  • Green Bean Casserole (from Easter)

Tuesday:

  • Chicken Kebabs (we just did that 2 weeks ago but they are so easy!  Tuesday night is busy so we’ll probably grill Monday and just reheat) — chicken, onion, peppers, mushrooms
  • Brown Rice
  • Grilled Pineapple

Wednesday:

  • Spaghetti with leftover sauce from last week
  • Quick Eggplant Parmesan (update:  this was a new recipe for us and really good!)
  • Garlic bread (otherwise known as leftover dinner rolls brushed with garlic butter) 🙂

Thursday:

  • Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas
  • Black Beans

Friday:

  • breakfast for dinner… either waffles or Easy Breakfast Casserole
  • fruit

Saturday:

  • Probably a leftovers day… I’ll see later in the week

Sunday:

  • Crockpot Chicken & Dumplings (with baby carrots added in)  — love this recipe because I can put on to cook when I get up and it is ready when we get home from church!
  • Green Beans
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rae on April 5, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Great! I was going to start my diet today and you went and made me HONGRY!!! The Chicken And dumplins sound like my kind of wonderful!!!

    Reply

    • It’s all fairly healthy except the chicken & dumplings! 🙂 And probably the enchiladas…
      I am trying to eat healthier so keep checking back and feel free to offer ideas!

      Reply

  2. Hey there, Melody!
    Thanks for visiting my blog! I am trying to get around to as many as I can . I just finished reading all your posts for the last few days. Very Interesting, too! It does take a while to write and to read, doesn’t it?
    I enjoy reading about your four year old. Aren’t they just the most wonderful little beings? I know you must be a great mom. I can tell it from your writing. Keep up the good work.
    Best regards to you,
    Ruby (aka Grammy)

    Reply

  3. Sounds delicious, most enjoyable blog a pleasure to read.

    Yvonne.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

