Housecleaning or Homemaking?

I’d been half-thinking about doing a post about Hope for today, but hadn’t really had time to put my thoughts together.  I think this post may qualify anyway (at least for me personally!).

First, I have to give a shout out to the 2 blog posts that gave me this idea.  I haven’t even read them yet, just noticed the titles.  I figured I’d write this out first and then go read!  Be sure to visit these sites:

Housekeeping… or lack thereof

H is for Homemaking

I first read the title of (lack of) housekeeping (which I read as housecleaning the first 3 times I read it… same concept) and thought, “I need to read that blog post!  That describes my house!  As a matter of fact, I need to be cleaning instead of blogging!”.  Then I scrolled down and saw “H is for Homemaking”.  Immediate thoughts… “Wow, that is a much better term!” (no offense intended to the original posters!) Next thought, “Yay!  That’s my H blog post!”

Housecleaning brings to mind drudgery… Cinderella without the prince… work that I would rather not do.  “Homemaking” reminds me of making a home for my family — an organized home where we can do what we need to do in order to go out to the world to do what we need to do there.  (Probably a home where I am not running around saying, “Hurry, we’re late!” all of the time while frantically looking for shoes and keys too!)   Thinking of all of these chores that I hate doing as contributing to a peaceful home for my family motivates me much more than thinking of unending housework (and ever-multiplying cat hair).

So… from here on out… I am changing my thinking.  I am not going to ask myself, “What housework do I have to do today just to get by?”.  Instead, I’ll be asking, “What one thing can I do today to make this home a little more welcoming and peaceful for my family (and myself)?”

I don’t know about you, but that gives me some hope.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I’m totally going to try and adopt the “homemaking” mentality! Thanks, Melody!

    Reply

  2. I’m with Carmen…that is a very healthy attitude and I should also adopt it. I can’t wait to tell me husband that the interwebs are on my side! Oh, and thanks for the shout out!

    Reply

  3. Me husband? What, am I Irish all of a sudden?

    Reply

  4. happy to have inspired you. I just wish i had more to say.. I must say I am not a very good writer, so although I thought it was a wonderful topic I just didn’t know what to say which is why I googled and found that wonderful poem. Thanks for your inspiring words as well 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rae on April 9, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Great attitude! I don’t really dislike housework- i just like blogging better! 🙂
    Thanks for your kind comments. I’ll be watching you through to “Z’ !

    Reply

  6. I’m with you! I’d much rather MAKE a HOME than KEEP (never mind CLEAN) a HOUSE!

    Reply

  7. That is a great way of looking at housework! I love all the topics you picked for the A-Z challenge:)

    Reply

  8. Neat idea — thanks! I’m going to try that myself, because I like many do not care for housework either!

    Reply

  9. I’m afraid changing the name probably isn’t going to work for me. I detest housecleaning no matter what the name! I do it anyway, but I grumble the whole time. 🙂 Homemaking makes me think of baking which I love! So maybe I’ll start housekeeping, think homemaking … and make muffins!

    Reply

    • I love baking (and cooking!) as well. I was thinking while writing this post that one aspect of housekeeping that I love is cooking (not always coming up with ideas, hence other areas of this blog… but the actual process is fun!). Muffins sound great… hmmm…. mix up some muffins and make yourself do some housecleaning while they are baking, that’s not much time for a great reward!

      Reply

  10. I’ve predicted my death- it is going to be something to do with laundry. But maybe, now, I’ll try your philosophy and see if that makes it easier!

    Thank you.

    Reply

  11. good one Melody…i’m not sure changing the name will help, but i will certainly think on it while the dustbunnies organize an all out attack against me!

    Reply

  12. I like the idea of thinking about minimal ways to contribute to peace in the house, instead of minimal ways to check off a to-do list item.

    Reply

  13. I absolutely agree with this. I teach the teenage girls at our church and the lessons touch on our home and families quite a bit. They always discuss homemaking and how important an orderly home is. When I focus on the work itself, it feels like drudgery. When it involves caring for my family, it makes it a (bit) better. Although, I am not the best housekeeper and should probably blog less and clean more…

    Reply

  14. No advice on Twitter as I have closed my account. Maybe that’s my advice. :O) I tend to get too involved – an all or nothing kinda gal – so choose to back off if I see things getting out of hand. So no more Twitter or Facebook for me. And I rarely watch the evening news, but do enjoy Good Morning America because of Robin Roberts. I adore her! Information Overload was a very good choice for the letter “I”!!!

    Have a blessed Sunday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

