Joy (of cooking) and other J’s.

Throwing everything in one blog post today… usual weekly menu planning and what else is going on this week. This is shaping up to be a busy week so I may have some hurried blog posts!

I was thinking last week when I wrote the Homemaking post that one thing I do enjoy about “housekeeping” is cooking.  I was not at all a cook when I first got married and definitely relied on the newest Joy of Cooking to learn some basics.  I have grown to love to cook, though I am no gourmet.  One thing that I enjoy most about being a SAHM is having more time to cook and being able to make a variety of recipes.  It seemed like when I was working full time I was always either throwing something together that could cook in a few minutes or using the crockpot.  I still do those now too, but it is nice to have the option to cook something that takes a little more prep time.  And I have more time to look for new recipes! 🙂  I am really trying to do better at eating healthier too so I am enjoying looking for different recipes for that.  This week I am trying to focus on other areas of homemaking (such as clearing out a lot of junk!) so the menu is pretty simple.

I was blessed to have a friend come over this morning and help me clean out some junk.  She has a little boy just a bit younger than mine so we got to experience another “j” word — jealousy — when the boys had a tough time sharing today.  Thanks to her, my living room looks a little brighter and more organized so now it is time to turn to the other hurdle of the week… finishing taxes!  (I’m jealous of everyone who is already finished… I never leave taxes this late but it has been a strange tax year for us!)

As for the menu… here it is!  Heading out of town for the weekend so I’m only planning meals for Monday-Thursday. Add a day of leftovers in there and that’s only three days of cooking for the week! 🙂

Monday:

Tuesday:

  • Blackened Tilapia — new recipe for us, I’m still figuring out cooking fish!
  • Green Beans
  • Roasted potatoes

Wednesday:

  • Tortellini with Homemade Pasta Sauce w/Ground Beef
  • Salad

Thursday:

  • Leftovers… if there aren’t any I’ll figure something out!

Bonuses (apparently I’m cooking for lots of other people this week too:

  • Poppyseed Chicken (for a MOPS potluck on Wednesday)
  • No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie (for a book club meeting tonight!)

I’ve been trying to post recipes on here but am going to take the time right now to get back to those taxes… I’ll post them later if anyone is interested. 🙂  Looking forward to looking at some of the other A-to-Z participants blog posts later tonight as well.

13 responses to this post.

  1. A lovely infotmative blog which is easy to follow.
    I have learned a few tips so a big thank you.

    Yvonne,

    Reply

  2. I’ve enjoyed cooking since I was a kid, but we don’t cook much in our house since it’s usually just my wife and I and we don’t eat very elaborate meals. Blackened Tilapia sounds really good. I like Tilapia and I like the flavor of Blackened preparation. I’d like to be better at cooking fish more than anything because I love it and it’s often kind of expensive in restaurants.
    Lee
    Blogging From A to Z April Challenge

    Reply

  3. you inspired me, melody…i started trying/thinking of stuff to get rid of…so ready for a junk free house, if that is even possible

    Reply

  4. I love this post(I love to cook)! Your menu looks! Fun post~

    Reply

  5. Your menu is making me hungry. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Melody. I haven’t been to nearly all the A to Z bloggers yet because I have company for two weeks (including one-year-old granddaughter). One thing I’ve been doing a lot more of the last week and a half is cooking — when it’s just my husband and I, we keep things simple and speedy. Hungry company in the house changes everything. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kathleen Jaeger on April 13, 2010 at 12:00 am

    I can relate! When I got married I didn’t really know how to cook. Oh, I knew a few things but what I really didn’t know was how-to keep on cooking for 21 meals a week! I had made it clear that I wasn’t a domestic kind of gal when we married. And so I was surprised years later when I actually said out loud…I love to cook! And I really do. And as I have grown in house-hold management, I enjoy the cooking more now that I am not so overwhelmed at the daily decisions of cooking.

    Reply

  8. I love to cook. I don’t get to do it as often as I like, but I love experimenting with various recipies. I love to plan menus and cook accordinly. Last thing I made was Kaluha Chili. That recipie is I think in the February arvhice.

    Reply

  9. Can I come over for dinner on Wednesday?!?! •Tortellini with Homemade Pasta Sauce w/Ground Beef~ sounds YUMMY;)

    Reply

  10. Posted by Rae on April 13, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I will definitely try the chicken and dumplins! sounds great!
    Do you ever wonder where all the junk comes from? I just cleaned out every single closet last fall- and they are back in a state of confusion!
    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such kind comments.
    I’m following you now!
    ABC’s or no ABC’s !

    Reply

  11. Isn’t meal planning great. It makes life so much easier. I used to stress about what you to cook for dinner and now I don’t. 🙂 I have never posted mine on my blog before but I think I am going to try it sometime. Do you like the Joy of Cooking cookbook? I’ve heard of it before but I have never looked at it. Great post. 🙂

    Reply

    • Sorry I am slow to reply to this! I like the cookbook but to be honest rarely use it anymore. I tend to visit allrecipes.com or other online cooking sites more often than pulling out cookbooks lately. It is nice for those times when I have forgotten the basics though (like exactly how long to cook hard-boiled eggs!) 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

