Review — Kaleidoscope: Seeing God’s Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light

I have to admit I opened this book with fairly low expectations.  I was pleasantly surprised by the writings inside.  Kaleidoscope is a book written by popular Women of Faith speaker Patsy Clairmont.  The book lives up to its name.  The outside cover is colorful and eye-catching… but not particularly special.  Turning through the first few pages, I caught a hint of promise… kept reading because I am reviewing the book… and was rewarded with an explosion of rich words and life illustrations.  Patsy views the biblical proverbs as a kaleidoscope of ever-changing rich insights and applications to our daily lives, and unveils complex meanings behind these simple phrases and verses as she shares her insights.  The book is divided into 32 short chapters, each illustrating a specific proverb.  Each chapter ends with questions for reflection and relevant Bible verses from other areas of the Bible.  I appreciated how the short essays and illustrations unpacked deeper meanings to the Scriptures and how Patsy used examples from her own life to illustrate these meanings.  Patsy expertly blends humor with self-disclosure and deep reflections with lighthearted stories as she explores topics such as anxiety/depression, friendship, fit, and the importance of our words.  She faces these topics with strength and a wisdom that comes from experience.  For this reading, I opted to read straight through Kaleidoscope instead of taking it in smaller doses as a devotional book.  I will certainly be taking more time to re-read the book, answer the questions, and reflect on the meanings these proverbs hold for my life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 responses to this post.

  1. I found your blog and review excellent. how often I have to re-read what I have written because of spelling mistakes then I don’t alwys see them.

    Have a lovely day.
    Yvonne,

    Reply

    • It is tough to catch your own spelling mistakes. That is why it always helps to have someone read your work (if it is something you’ll be submitting to someone else, at least) to catch those mistakes that even spell check does not. I do have to admit that I am a good speller but prone to way too many typos… I use Google Chrome as a browser and it has a build in spell checker so that helps immensely with catching typos and spelling mistakes! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

