Monday Meal Planning 5/3/10-5/9/10

Update on last week — we ended up not having the risotto because I had some potatoes that needed to be used instead.  I”ll definitely try it soon though.  Instead of breakfast for dinner, we ended up having this quiche one night… and we went to McDonald’s on a night.  Spending $12 for supper for 3 at McDonalds is much cheaper than going out to eat at a non fast food restaurant a couple of nights a week (as we have been known to do in the past), so I say we are still making progress.

This month may be a challenge.  This is the month that… after cutting back on eating out and everything else I can think of… we are actually going to *follow* the budget that I’ve been creating for the last few months.  That means going to the store once a week, using cash, shopping sales even more, eating out maybe once in a month.

Monday 5/3/10: Hot dogs on the grill (charcoal or Foreman depends on the weather!), baked beans

Tuesday 5/4/10: Homemade pizza (pepperoni, onion, olive so far!) using this pizza sauce, breadsticks, salad

Wednesday 5/5/10:  Black bean and corn quesadillas, tortilla chips with salsa & guacamole

Thursday 5/6/10: Grilled chicken, green beans, corn on the cob

Friday 5/7/10: Parmesan Turkey Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, green peas

Saturday 5/8/10: pasta salad (from Aldi’s) for lunch; leftovers for supper

Sunday 5/9/10: Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings for lunch; spaghetti for supper

5 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a good week. It’s hard to stay under budget. I don’t have to worry about it as much now as I did when we were first married. My kids (older teens) eat a TON of fruits & vegs & drink whole vats of milk in a week. Thankfully they rarely eat junk food, but eating healthy is not cheap!

    Reply

  2. Oops, didn’t even realize I’d posted this… guess I don’t know what day it is! 🙂 Not a big deal, it isn’t changing anyway. Doing decently healthy this week and stocking up on chicken breasts that are on sale (finally!) to use the next few weeks. I’m loving having an Aldi’s nearby, produce is so much cheaper than what it is in the bigger stores.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bud Ezekiel on May 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    i will be there on Friday:) love mashed potatoes!

    Reply

  4. I love the way you referred to us as a “community.” This is how I feel. It just goes to show we are all connected. Congrats to you on finishing our challenge. Now whats next?

    Reply

  5. Hey, Melody. Good for you finishing the challenge! I enjoyed reading your postings. I feel like our blogging did create a real community. It is wonderful to meet new people, isn’t it? A good idea in planning meals. It is just my husband and I and sometimes he sleeps until afternoon. I’ll be back.
    Ruby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

