Thankful Thursday

I debated whether to write a thankful post today. I have spent the week very grateful for some areas of life, including life itself. I have also spent the week feeling ungrateful and overwhelmed by responsibilities, information, and emotional upheaval. It’s the little things that add up… allergies, fatigue from fighting with asthma that comes from those, dealing with a willful 4 year old, watching my house be overtaken by *stuff*. And yet… it is the little and not so little things that I am grateful for. So… here’s my gratitude list for the week:

  • I am grateful for Tori at This Journey Called Life, specifically for this post. I’ve been feeling like a much less than perfect person lately… struggling with how people see me (while I know I am should not be judged as a person by the behavior of my child or the cleanliness of my house… I often feel I am, whether I truly am or not).
  • I am grateful for life. I am grateful that my family is safe, both here and in Nashville. I spent last Saturday morning camped out in the bathroom with my 4-year old listening to tornado sirens which continued until late that night… and I’m not one to usually run for cover at storm warnings.   I’ve spent the days since then captivated and heartbroken by images of loss across Tennessee, and particularly heartbroken by the devastation in Nashville and its surrounding areas, which I called home for 20+ years.  So many cars, houses, family members, businesses and the jobs that go with those businesses were lost.  Many who lost belongings and homes don’t have flood insurance… because areas that no one (including the insurance companies) thought would flood, did.  I’m grateful for having a house to clean today… even though I hate cleaning it.
  • I’m grateful for what I’ve seen over the last few days of people willing to reach out and help each other… whether they are passing along information or donations of any kind.
  • I’m thankful for the ongoing reminders I have gotten this week that what matters is “keeping on keeping on” (as my husband used to say) What matters is just to keep going. What matters in fighting evil and tragedy in life is for the good to keep pushing at it. It is so easy for me to get discouraged that all I am trying to do in life doesn’t make a difference (okay, I don’t feel like I am doing much at the moment, but it was a frequent feeling during my career in social work and counseling). I’ve been reminded in several ways this week to keep working for good… and somehow, even if I can’t see it, it will make a difference.  (And that is not at all flood-related)
  • I’m thankful for living in a country where I can pray to my God in public. (I’m also thankful for living in a country where others can do the same… or not… because giving them a choice means I have one as well)
  • I’m thankful that a friend of mine is coming in later tonight… and thankful she can get here because that was looking a little uncertain a few days ago.
  • With Mother’s Day coming up… I am even more thankful for my little boy. Even though he has kept me exasperated this week and feeling like a parenting failure. He always comes out with something adorable or runs over for a hug just when I feel I’m at my wit’s end.
  • I’m thankful for air conditioning! It is getting hot here, and it is only May! I’m thankful that it is looking like we’ll have a/c back in the car sometime soon as well… it’s been a while and it will be so nice to go through a summer with air in the car.
  • I’m thankful for tears. It’s been one of those weeks with a lot of them shed. But crying has a way to make you feel better too… I’m not quite sure how that works but I am grateful for it.
  • I’m thankful for all of my readers… because if I didn’t have people reading I probably wouldn’t have written this post.  Writing this post was therapeutic… and I am in a much better mood than when I started writing it.
  • I’m thankful for autosave on WordPress! My computer shut down when I had written 95% of this post… and it was still there when I came back. 🙂

What are you thankful for this week?

Also, I just decided to link up with Kerri @ Mommy4Him… visit there to see some more Thankful Thursday posts!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bud Ezekiel on May 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    hi Melody:)

    you’re doing well here. got the gizmo straightened out so i can see whenever you post plus it shows up in my mail box. i didn’t know all of what these blogs were capable of doing. you’re blessed to have auto save. on one of my old blogs, the “engine” would suddenly quit and everything that was written would disappear.

    don’t think i’d like living in your neck of the woods. especially in tornado country!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bud Ezekiel on May 6, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    btw…i’m thankful that i’m in the southwest:)

    Reply

  3. Those are wonderful.
    As always, I’m thankful to still be breathing today.

    Reply

  4. Great post… Well, I’m thankful to have a wonderful family and for another life.

    Reply

  5. I always need a good reminder to count my many blessings. I all to often get stuck thinking about everything that could be netter. Thank you.

    Reply

  6. Aww… I’m so glad that you got something out of the post… I wasn’t sure if it was going to encourage anyone the way it did for me… most people must be taking blogging breaks from commenting or something. 🙂 oH, well!! Anyhow, I wanted to say HI and let you know that I started an additional blog that goes a little deeper with the bible and spiritual concepts… questions are encouraged and comments… give me a visit! Talk soon!

    Reply

  7. P.S. I tagged you again- pick up your cherry on top award @ http://www.journeycalledlife1.com/2010/05/shout-out-to-my-1st-blogger-peeps.html

    Thank you for being my blogger friend!

    Reply

  8. The *stuff* overtaking my house is a major stressor for me too. I feel very overwhelmed by it most of the time. Not sure if I’ll ever get it under control.

    Nice post. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Thanks for joining in on my Thankful Thursday!!
    I also suffer from allergies and have a head strong almost 4 year old and a temperamental almost 2 year old, so I understand it gets hard sometimes to find things to be grateful for when you are completely exhausted and stressed and surrounded by “stuff”!! I am glad you were able to share…thank you for your reminders to be thankful for the little things!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

