Fear(less)?

Fear. Despite reading and loving Fearless, I spend too much time enveloped by fear. I tend to go to one of two extremes… either I become overwhelmed by fear and anxiety or I attempt to ignore it. Of course, Fear will not be ignored. It will arise at inopportune moments in an attempt to strangle dreams, quash hope, steamroller joy. Fear shackles me to the past and tries to convince me that there can be no different future. Fear looks at future hopes and reasons that my present path cannot lead to future dreams. Fear discourages me from having future dreams at all. Fear burdens me, weighs me down, limits my vision.

Instead of having extreme reactions, I need to embrace Fear and courageously act in response to it.  I need to remind Fear that it is a part of me but it will not master me. I need to embrace fears… look and see which are realistic… and take action where I can. After doing what I can to guard against reasonable fears, I need to discourage irrational fears from overtaking my mind. And I need to remember that I have a God who reminds me that, no matter what, he is beside me; he will help me carry burdens and surmount life-storms; he will take life-pressures away from me and send peace “that transcends all understanding” (Phil. 4:6-7) to make them as if they are weightless.

This is a blog post in response to Three Word Wednesday writing prompts and part of Word Filled Wednesday.  Feel free to join in!

14 responses to this post.

  1. Oh Girl!
    You have no idea how badly I needed to read this today! Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Phew, No fear! That’s not the first time today I’ve seen Phil: 4.6-7 today.. Nicely to the prompt!!

    Reply

  3. Thanks for blessing me with this.

    Reply

  4. Fear in the face of life can be a powerful emotion. Since we all fear, it was a pleasure to read this, read your take on it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Bud Ezekiel on May 12, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    you really nailed this one, Melody! i’m constantly in battle with it and often facing it. i’m facing it now in regards to my blog. …His blog, actually:) keep thinking about the verse….there is no fear in His love. His love casts it it out? since i don’t have my Bible search handy here….this one is “wingin` it”

    Reply

  6. Stepping out in faith when shaking in your boots is a tough one to deal with. Gaining courage through Him is the best way to go…

    Great read!

    Reply

  7. A little fear is a good thing – keeps us on our toes, but we can’t let it destroy us. Good post!

    Reply

  8. Funny how this and your previous post mesh with the one I just posted, which has been sifting through my brain for a couple of days. Good timing, God.

    Reply

  9. Amen, stare it down so the energy finds the good. He is with you every minute to catch you. He has certainly blessed me.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Rae on May 13, 2010 at 5:57 am

    Thanks for a giving me a morning push…out the door to face my fears!

    Reply

  11. What struck me as I read that verse is that it is a clear command. A direction…a clear direction.
    Fear not.
    God would never command anything that was dangerous for us…..it is totally safe for us not to fear.

    Reply

  12. Very deep and relatable writing.

    Reply

  13. how clearly spoken this madness of fear… i can only think of the dark, real dark where there is not one light…and taking one step then another then another… remembering the lord is my shepherd i shall not want…

    Reply

    • It reminds me of “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path” or something like that. I wrote a post on that one a while back too. I hate the dark… the literal dark and the darkness of not knowing what is next. I would never be one to go into a cave where they turn all of the lights out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

