Thankful Thursday


It’s Thursday… time for a gratitude post! I can’t even remember much of what has happened between last Thursday and this one, and I suppose that in itself is something to be grateful for! Hmm… (think, think, think)

I’m grateful for children — mine and others. Church service last Sunday focused on our children’s ministry… I missed the service because I was hanging out with the 2 and 3 year olds teaching Children’s Church. It is the last time I’ll be teaching my little boy for a while because he’s moving up to the 4/5 class next month, and I’m going to stay in the younger class rotation unless they really need me to switch. That is probably a good thing, going by the adage that kids act worse for their parents than others… we end up with a lot of tired preschoolers in the middle of church hour.  I’m so grateful I am part of a church family who loves on my child.  And I’m grateful for being in a church where I can serve as well.  Mother’s Day reminds me all too often of the years I spent avoiding the children’s ministries and oftentimes wishing I could avoid church altogether… so spending one working with the littlest ones and helping them acknowledge *their* moms was coming full circle for me.

I’m thankful for getting to spend time with an out-of-town friend. We needed someone from outside to step into our house for a few days. I’d been not feeling well and feeling as if I wasn’t parenting very well either. I needed some reminders of how adorable my little boy can be. It’s easy to get stuck in endless cycles in families sometimes, and I’m glad we had someone who came to visit to get us “unstuck”.

I’m grateful for getting to spend time with some amazing ladies at a MOPS group I attend and a bible study I attend. I’m grateful that I get to be involved at their church… with no expectation that I become a member there. I love this church as much as my own. It is a place I can be me, and that is about the biggest compliment I can give a church body.

I am grateful that I got a good family picture over the weekend… I’m the picture taker in my family and pictures with me in them are rare. (I will confess that is largely by choice since I hate seeing pictures of myself… though apparently not enough to do anything about it).

I am grateful for friends who let me know they value my friendship. Too often I feel I’m the one a friendship means more to. I am so glad to be able to be there for them when they need it as well.

And I’m, as always, grateful for all of you who visit and comment on my blog.  Your support and encouragement means more than I can say. 🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. I’m grateful that a friend mine (who was hurt this week) had God watching over him and he’ll be okay!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rae on May 13, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I am thankful for your posts. For me, your blog is a blend of spiritual revival, a splash of delicious and nurturing recipes, a shot of humor and a hug of friendship.Thank you.

    Reply

  3. Very nice! This week I’m thankful for my healthy family. We’ve a friend whose wife is very ill right now and we’re all feeling so worried and so thankful for what we do have.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Bud Ezekiel on May 13, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    i’m grateful for His compassion/mercies that are new EVERY morning.

    Reply

  5. Thank you for sharing all you are grateful for and joining me in my Thankful Thursday post!!

    Blessings,
    ~Kerri

    Reply

  6. I*nteresting that a visit “shook things up.” We’ve got a friend coming this weekend, and now I’m looking forward to it that much more!

    Reply

  7. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

