Seeking Contentment

Had a whole blog post typed out… and decided I was no longer in the same frame of (worrying; complaining) mind and wouldn’t post it.  Here’s the gist!

Here’s what I keep trying to remember:

8 responses to this post.

  1. I really needed this today. Thank you!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rae on May 20, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Beautifully said.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marjorie on May 20, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    I have to remind myself all the time that I have it easier than so many. It sometimes doesn’t stop me from being discontent. All we can do is keep reminding ourselves of the philosophies we believe in and keep trying to live them.

    Reply

    • That was part of the vent post that I didn’t post… complaining about feeling like I have it harder than some others I see. I just know that my life is so much easier than many others too and then I feel guilty for complaining!

      Reply

  4. There is a fabulous song– sung by Nicole Nordeman (sp?) called Gratitude. I thought of it while reading this.
    I’m grateful for surgeons who help children. Specifically the ones who have helped my son.
    I’m grateful for moms who like to be moms and give their kids a good start.
    Good weather, second chances, eyes, ears, taste…
    Family, friends, books…soooo many things. (=

    Reply

  5. I don’t think contentment has to mean making light of our troubles, whatever they are, however worse off others might be.

    I think it has more to do with maintaining gratitude for what we recognize as blessing, and trust in God’s goodness even in the midst of what does not look like blessing.

    Reply

    • I really like these thoughts! I’ve been trying to seek a balance between complaining and being content, even in areas I don’t like. I cannot stand it when people tell me to just paste a fake smile on and pretend everything is okay (okay, most don’t actually *say* that but it is their attitude). I just can’t figure out what it means to “be content” when I don’t like life circumstances, especially the times it seems they are out of my control. I do think that gratitude is the key… and am trying to do more of that (hence the Thursday posts!) Thanks for the comments!

      Reply

  6. […] Tagged: blessings, NaBloPoMo-2010. Leave a Comment I wrote the post below 6 months ago. I posted only the last bit. Six months later… I am brave enough (I think) to post the rest of the musings… though I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

