Ketchup Day

Andrew (who is 4 years old) and I have been having “Alphabet Days” at our house. We have been taking one letter each day, practicing writing it and looking for things that start with that letter, and doing some activity with the letter. For example, yesterday was “L Day” and we went to the library for storytime, had lentil soup for lunch, and had plans to make lemonade (though that didn’t happen). I’ve not been doing as much as I’ve wanted to over the past few days, so I told Andrew that today would be a “catch up” day.  Andrew — “We are going to make ketchup?”

So… I thought I’d explained that we weren’t going to make ketchup. This morning, he told me, “Mom! Today you get to spend time with me! It is M day for Mom!” I told him we were going to have “catch up” day today. He thought for a minute… then said, “I know! I can make ketchup with you and then it can be ‘M Day’ AND ‘ketchup day'”!

🙂 Love this little boy.

So… we are having “catch up” day and M day. We are probably going to make jam (I just learned I can make jam in my breadmaker!) and lemonade… but not ketchup.  However, if you are interested in making ketchup… here’s a recipe I have bookmarked to try someday.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Soooooooo sweet! I love this “letter day” idea.

    Reply

    • It was so completely spur of the moment that I haven’t done as much with it as I want to. I think I am going to try to expand it and do more… this is somewhat serving as a “How can we count the days until vacation?” thing for us right now.

      Reply

  2. uh….how do you make jam in the bread maker?

    Reply

  3. What a cutie!

    And Jam in a breadmaker????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

