Trusting in the Shepherd

A few days ago, I learned that I had won a copy of Trusting in the Shepherd through a blog giveaway. Today, the DVD arrived and we let our little guy stay up to watch part of it.

Minutes into the DVD, I remembered my recent blog post about fear… and that one of the lessons that God is teaching my little boy, through loving adults and awesome children’s DVDs, is that God is with him when he is scared. This DVD continues to reinforce those lessons he is learning. I love it. He is sitting here entranced while watching it right now.  I predict we’ll be singing the song from it in the car tomorrow.

And I am thankful. I am thankful to Carmen for hosting the giveaway (and picking ME to win!). I am thankful to the host of adults out there who are helping my child know God as someone who loves him and cares for him and protects him and wants what is best for him.

And yet, as an adult I know that there are things out there to fear. I know that God cannot (or at least, chooses not to) protect his children from everything.  However, I do believe (more than believe… I have experienced) that God is with us through our darkest valleys and our deepest fears, despite our mistakes and failures.

I wish my own fears were as easy to solve as my child’s.  Not a child’s… because I know that too many children out there are facing adult-sized fears. One of the side effects of my adulthood is trusting too much in myself, and trusting too little in others and in God.  I feel too often that getting through life is all up to me and my planning.  I seem to have to learn over and over that God will be there when life is uncertain or when life falls apart, and to trust that he is beside me as I journey through life.  I’m hoping my little boy figures all of that out long before he is my age.  He is well on the way.

♪♫ Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will not fear, for you are with me, God, and I am brave when you are near. ♪♫  (Adapted from Psalm 23:4)

If you have little ones at home or in your life, you should check out the Really Woolly Kids website!  It is geared towards kids aged 3-8, and contains some cute games videos and activities.  I know we will be buying some more of their products and enjoying the website.

Tonight, I am thankful for bedtime snuggles and kisses too.  🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful post, Mel! I’m SO glad you guys enjoyed the dvd.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellen on November 5, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    This time of year I always make my kids fill up a box (I choose the size) with toys they feel they can giev a way. The toys have to be in good condition with all parts. It may not be a lot – but even giving up one McDonalds toy can seem like a huge deal to a four year old.

    In the past my extended family has also adopted a family through our communtiy center – instead of buying gifts for each other, we spend the day shopping for gifts for the family.

    Hey Melody – thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you subscribe – I didn’t see a subscribe button on your blog. You’re blog looks great…any advice on how I can make mine look better would be appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

