Saturday Summary

I have decided to use Saturday blogs (at least during NaBloPoMo) to talk about random things that happened during the week or updates from other posts during the week.  I’m assuming some of you don’t have much time to browse blogs except on the weekends, so maybe this will be helpful! 🙂

The big hit from the menu plan this week was an amazing white bean and sausage soup! I didn’t plan for Saturday morning… but we are making a Sausage Breakfast Casserole right now that smells great! Bison burgers and sweet potato fries for supper — yum! Mondays are about to be all about weight loss here too… which fits in well with menu planning!

I talked a bit about homeschooling… and I have to admit that our lesson plan didn’t make it far. We’ve been having fun doing “school” in other ways though, and we made it to our favorite activity of the week — library story time!  I have found some cool art ideas from Ellen at Art Experiences for Tots (who is a fellow NaBloPoMo blogger, so check out her blog!)  I can always come up with reading/phonics/math activities, but art is a weak area for me so I am very grateful for tips!  We got a boost to Bible study by watching a DVD about trusting God, so that counts too, right?  Plus we learned lessons more valuable than schoolwork about giving to others, including helping a grandma at the store come up with present ideas for *her* 4 year old grandson, so I am going to count it as a successful week!

I’ve talked some about some friendships… and renewed some blog friendships (which I am sure I’ll be talking about at some point soon!).   I was able to spend some time catching up with a friend on Wednesday, and tonight my husband and I will be hanging out with 7 kids between the ages of 3 and 13.  One is mine, six are the children of a friend of mine.  We love this family and so we are glad to get to see them again!

I think the weather skipped right through fall and straight to winter here.  We had our first freeze warning last night and it was just above freezing when I checked the weather this morning.  Fortunately for me, we have plenty of hot chocolate, leftover soup, and chocolate chip cookies on hand!  (You really should check out those recipes, they are delicious and not that bad for you if you make the hot chocolate with skim milk!).  I’m going to go bundle up and try to get in some exercise today… but overall it looks like it is just going to be a lazy Saturday around here until it is time to go babysit.  That is the best kind anyway, right?  Might as well get a few of those in before the holiday rush starts!

By the way, today I am thankful for lazy Saturdays… the hot chocolate and cookies I got to snack on last night… and just having some time today to spend with family and friends.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

