Exhaustion & Lullabies

I am exhausted. The last 24 hours has been a huge emotional roller coaster of getting conflicting answers from vets and being massively annoyed at miscommunications. I can say with reasonable confidence that my kitty will be just fine in a few days… and I am glad that crisis is averted for a while.  I realized just how much the exhaustion had caught up with the whole family when my 4 year old fell asleep ON HIS OWN before supper tonight.

Anyway… I thought I’d blog a bit about my favorite CD of lullabies. I found this CD while pregnant with my little boy, and he listened to it every night for at least the first year of his life. I love it. It has unfortunately been missing in our house for a while… though we did manage to burn a couple of tracks into iTunes as MP3s before the CD disappeared. I am still hoping it turns up someday… or I just may have to buy another copy.

I learned fairly quickly that children’s music is too often only loved by children. This arrangement of lullabies is beautiful and will appeal to children and adults alike. I spent many nights crying in front of my computer screen listening to samples from the CD before buying it… and many nights listening to it in tears while rocking my baby to sleep. The CD served to relax me when my tears were from exhaustion and anxiety… and I generally ended up in emotional tears even on those peaceful nights.  This is not at all a religious or Christian CD… but listening to it so often reminded me of just how much of a gift I was given in my baby boy.  If you are looking for a baby gift… this one comes highly recommended!


On Amazon:  Golden Slumbers: A Father’s Lullaby

Tonight, I am thankful for lullabies… and a warm bed to sleep in. 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m glad to hear your cat is going to be okay. I was wondering—I have two cats who are 14 years old. I’ve had them longer than I’ve known my husband!

    ~Jennifer

    Reply

    • Thanks! 🙂 We got our cat right after we got married… my husband worked nights at the time and got him to keep me company at night! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

