He will quiet you with his love and rejoice over you with singing…

I came across this verse on another blog this week… on a day I was feeling very much in turmoil and needed the reminder and impression of peace and comfort this verse gives.

Today I read it in the context of Zephaniah 3.  I really don’t know much about the minor prophets… or the book of Zephaniah.  But basically I get the impression of a people who did not trust God… who wanted things their own way (how often do I do the same?).  And yet… when even a few trusted… God relented.  He did not punish.  He did not give the consequences they deserved.  (If you have read the Bible, this should be sounding really familiar… God has done this over and over again).

The impression I get is of a parent dealing with a child who is upset, overwrought, in a tantrum.  Who won’t listen to what their parent has to say… even if that is what is best.  And yet, God swoops down… accepts the anger without condoning it… and offers comfort, a refuge, a lullaby… a reminder that child is loved.

That’s all.  I could muse a bit on how I am that child at times.  Or on how I am not that kind of parent as often as I should be.  Maybe another time.  This week, I just needed the reminder that I can be irrational, unreasonable, overwhelmed… and still be loved.  And I’m offering what has blessed me in hopes it will do the same for you.

WFW is not about books, authors, artists.. it’s about God and HIS WORD ONLY. WFW is about celebrating the gift of creativity through God’s Word.

Join myself and others as we share at Word Filled Wednesday:

Also, visit Mom’s Mustard Seeds to connect with more women learning and living in the Word

6 responses to this post.

  1. Great verse and post! Happy Word-filled Wednesday!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for this post….definitely something I need to remember!

    Reply

  3. It’s wonderful how the Lord brings us peace and gives us hope and joy. He does rejoice over us. I like the image of the angry child being swooped up with love.

    Have a Blessed Thanksgiving,
    Janis

    Reply

  4. So thankful that HE quiets me with HIS love when at times I don’t want to be quiet….He is so good and I’m so thankful that HE is such a forgiving God! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  5. This verse always reminds me of the 2nd Chapter of Acts song — “I will hide in the shadow of your wings, and listen, while you sing — I’ll hide in the shadow of your wings, and listen, while you sing over me — sing over me…”

    Reply

  6. That is a beautiful verse, one I needed to hear. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

