Hope Now

Have you ever been driving down the road listening to the radio… when a song comes on that reaches in and grabs you and leaves you scrambling for paper and a pen to jot down the lyrics so you can find it again? (Surely it isn’t just me that this happens to all of the time)

That was my Wednesday. The first few days of the week had left me spent and needing some hope. By Wednesday… life was looking better… and into the drive towards the second, holiday-filled half of my week came this song. I scrambled for a bit of paper to jot down the lyrics… and suddenly realized that I had done that before. Several years ago. The first time I heard this song.

I can’t even explain what it is about the song that speaks to me. Maybe it is just that trying to keep faith and searching for hope and realizing over and over again how quickly I can forget Who I am living to please has been the focus of much of the last few years of life.

Enough of me. Listen to the song. It is “Hope Now” by Addison Road.

Lyrics:
If everything comes down to love
Then just what am I afraid of
When I call out Your name
Something inside awakes in my soul
How quickly I forget I’m Yours

I’m not my own
I’ve been carried by You
All my life

(CHORUS)
Everything rides on hope now
Everything rides on faith somehow
When the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free

When my life is like a storm
Rising waters all I want is the shore
You say I’ll be ok and
Make it through the rain
You are my shelter from the storm

(CHORUS)
And everything rides on hope now
And everything rides on faith somehow
When the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free

I’m not my own
I’ve been carried by You
All my life

(CHORUS)
Everything rides on hope now
Everything rides on faith somehow
So when the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free

And everything rides on hope now
And everything rides on faith somehow
When the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free

You’ve become my hearts desire
I will sing Your praises higher
Cause Your love sets me free
Your love sets me free
Your love sets me free

Linking up with Amy at Signs, Miracles and Wonders today for her Then Sings My Soul Saturday. Feel free to join in!  Today… I am thankful for this song… and thankful to K-Love for the uncountable times the right song has been on the radio at the right time.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sirius/XM Radio at least gives me the band and song title so I can go searching later for the lyrics!

    Reply

  2. she has a lovely singing voice.

    I will sing Your praises higher
    Cause Your love sets me free — AMEN!

    Reply

  3. Wonderful song of faith and hope!

    Reply

  4. I agree. I listen to cd’s quite a bit, but I love listening to the radio. God speaks through song lyrics so often, and you feel nothing but loved to know God loved you enough to speak to your heart through the words of man.

    Such a great song.

    In the not-to-distant past I went through a time where God didn’t reveal his purposes or plan for me, but I was walking through a very dark time. I was being called to trust, obey and wait. This song perfectly spoke my heart and it would pop up right when I needed to sing these words to God the most.

    Isn’t He great to do that for us?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

