What a gift!

The holiday season is officially here… and so many of us are shopping for the perfect gift(s) to give others.  I was reminded earlier this week of the true Gift we celebrate during this season… a gift that cannot be bought from a store, or ordered online, or even hand-created:

Moreso than most… the idea behind this blog post is not my own. It is a poor summary of a MOPS presentation I heard earlier this week.   This presentation reminded me of the importance of physical gifts (which I at times tend to put little value on)… but beyond that it reminded me that the Gift we celebrate this holiday season… the arrival of God in flesh on Earth… is the reason we give all gifts.  Not just the physical gifts which we tend to give this holiday season, but the gifts of our time, our compassion, our presence… and the gift of passing God’s Gift along to others.

What does your family do to celebrate and acknowledge the Gift whose arrival here on Earth we celebrate this Advent season?

WFW is not about books, authors, artists.. it’s about God and HIS WORD ONLY. WFW is about celebrating the gift of creativity through God’s Word.

Join myself and others as we share at Word Filled Wednesday:

Also, visit Mom’s Mustard Seeds to connect with more women learning and living in the Word

4 responses to this post.

  1. What a Gift, indeed! Did you read Ann Voskamp’s post this week called “The Great Giveaway”? There’s a link to that post in my Thursday post. You should definitely read it, if you haven’t already!

    It’s great to “see” you doing Multitude Mondays and linking up with us for Mustard Seed Planting!

    Happy Friday, Melody!

    ~Jennifer

    P.S. I love the dark background and the books at the top!

    Reply

    • No, I’ve been slacking on keeping up with blogging (reading *and* writing) over the past week or so. I need to try to get caught up sometime! Thanks for giving me a good place to start. I’m glad you like the new background… I wanted something new and I’m still not sure about this one!

      Reply

  2. Thanks for reminding us of the reason for the season!

    Reply

  3. LOVE your post this week! Thanks so much for linking up….and reminding everyone of the true gift of the season!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

