Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole

I have had this recipe for almost 5 years… and realized while making it tonight that I have never made it!  I’ve had it several times… and was reminded of it because my mom made it while we were in town on Thanksgiving weekend.  Anyway… it is good!  The original recipe called for 6 chicken breasts… and I think that 1.5 pounds of chicken is probably best to use.  I’m putting in 2 pounds, just because that is what I calculated nutrition information on.  It was getting tough to fit 2 pounds of chicken tenders in my 9×13 pan though!  (Thanks to my childhood neighbor for this great recipe!)

Ingredients:

1 can Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup

1 can Campbell’s chicken-mushroom soup

1 cup skim milk

2 cups uncooked Minute rice (I used white, but you can also use brown)

1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix

2 pounds chicken breasts or chicken tenders (1.5 would work too…)

1 cup 2% shredded cheddar cheese

Black pepper to taste

Directions:

Mix all ingredients except chicken and cheese and place in greased 9×13 pan.  Lightly pepper chicken and place on top of soup/rice mixture.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Bake at 375 degrees for one hour.

Nutrition information (for 1/8 of 9×13 pan)

327 calories

32 carbs

34 protein

7 fat

2 fiber

1010 sodium (yikes… all those canned soups!  *And* I thought it was too salty, even without added salt… may cut back on that onion soup mix next time)

Leave a Reply

