A prayer

This Advent season has me thinking of hope… and longing.  Have you ever thought of how God’s people felt over the many years they waited for the Messiah?  If they are like me, they were disappointed along the way.  They wondered what God was doing, struggled to trust in His plan, and wondered if he would ever fulfill his promise.

Sometimes (oftentimes, it seems at the moment), life doesn’t go according to plan.  I don’t do very well with waiting.  Maintaining hope, trusting things will work out, and looking for the joy in uncertainty are not my default reactions.  I search for inward peace… and peace in relationships… on a fairly regular basis, and certainly when life isn’t going to plan.  Today, I’ve been amazed all over again at how, through his Word and the prayers of his people, God can cause hope to spring from hopelessness and breathe peace into turmoil.

He can and will do the same for you.

WFW is not about books, authors, artists.. it’s about God and HIS WORD ONLY. WFW is about celebrating the gift of creativity through God’s Word.

Join myself and others as we share at Word Filled Wednesday:

Also, visit Mom’s Mustard Seeds to connect with more women learning and living in the Word

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is a wonderful verse, Melody! Like you, I’m always seeking to maintain peace, joy, and hope, especially when life is uncertain. I have trouble with waiting too!

    I don’t remember how we first ran across one another, but I’m certainly glad your blog has come across my path. I appreciate your honesty and sincerity.

    ~Jennifer

    Reply

  2. OH, to the heart of my problems…you have nailed it! We are all so disappointed because we want our reward here and now! How humbling it is to look at Christ’s life. I want to be like him, but not the way he was on Earth…but, in Heaven…..AAgghh!! LOVE your post. Way too much to think about right now. I think I’ll go back to bed. NO…seriously! THANK YOU for your honesty and for linking up!!! You are keeping it REAL!!

    Reply

  3. Thank you for what you shared! I am always learning about this area and thankful for God’s loving patience as I learn and re-learn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

