E is for Encouragement…

… and “extremely late”.  I started but never finished the post on the day it *should* have posted, if that counts for anything! 🙂  Some thoughts from Wedneday…

*****************

I blogged on “encouragement” for E last year — is that cheating?  I was actually planning on blogging on education… but as usual, life intervened in my blogging plans.

Today did not start off well.  After a few wasted hours, Andrew and I headed off to a mom’s bible study we go to (well, I go and he plays with some amazing teachers and kids).  The bible study is not at the church I attend but at another local church whose staff and members I have come to love and appreciate for their kindness, genuineness and support.  I’ve been with basically the same group of ladies in a bible study for a year or so now and we have a good group going.  I walked in the church rushed and overwhelmed (though doing a little better since getting some caffeine in my system on the way — love Sonic!).  I left, two and a half hours later, amazed by the love and concern I’d seen others express for one another (and me!).  It is so wonderful to have places to go to get encouragement and understanding of the little and not-so-little hassles of life! 🙂

Following that bible study, I came to home to a long (and pre-planned) Skype session with one of my closest friends… who lives too far away.  I really do not like making phone calls, and we have not been in touch as much as we should lately.  It was such an encouragement to me to talk with her, get her opinions and advice on some decisions my family is contemplating, and see her adorable kids. 🙂

That is about it… just a snippet of my day… and gratitude that a day that started out not so well was turned around by the generosity of others who took time to care about my life.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for sharing. I’m stopping by from the A to Z challenge and I look forward to reading more from you.

    Reply

  2. Encouragement is something so few people think about, but that is so very important to all of us.

    I hope things settle again soon! 🙂

    Reply

  3. We all need encouragement at some point in our lives or another. What a great E word. Pleasure to meet you via the A-Z Challenge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

