I is for Introvert

I have a theory that bloggers are more introverted than most… and that enables them to sit in front of the computer instead of socializing.  Maybe I’m wrong about that.  Maybe I’m right and no one needs to read this.  But… I need to write and it is my blog, so here goes!

A Google search gave me this definition for an introvert, which I vehemently disagree with:

in·tro·vert

noun /ˈintrəˌvərt/
introverts, plural

  • A shy, reticent, and typically self-centered person
  • A person predominantly concerned with their own thoughts and feelings rather than with external things

Introverts are NOT shy, antisocial, or self-centered (though probably more-self aware). I’ve come to realize that I may appear that way at times… and I do have some shyness on top of introversion. Introverts replenish energy by spending time alone, and often feel drained or overwhelmed after spending time in crowds or with others. In contrast, extroverts (aka everyone else or 75% of the population) replenish energy by spending time with others. That doesn’t mean introverts don’t like people (though I certainly have my days of not liking people in general). Introverts draw from an inner world of ideas (and retreat to it in order to think before speaking) while extroverts draw from an outer world of experience… and talk out loud before thinking.

Sometimes life as an introvert is easier than other times.  At my last full time job, I found myself surrounded by extroverts who brainstormed and threw out ideas in meetings (ideas which, in my opinion, were not relevant to the discussion much of the time… yes, I know that is part of the purpose of brainstorming but not when someone goes on their own tangent just to hear themselves talk!). Meanwhile, I rarely got a word in edgewise (despite many attempts)…and was often criticized for this. Needing time to recharge after a tough day and 6 hours of meetings? Nope, at this workplace socializing with coworkers appeared mandatory for staying in the management team’s good graces. And so on, and so forth. Thankfully, I am no longer in that work situation. Unfortunately, I doubt anything there has changed.

On the other hand, being an introvert means that I don’t need anyone else around to have a good day.  🙂  It means I try to be found among calm more often than chaos, though that doesn’t always work out!  Those two advantages alone are enough for me!

One response to this post.

  1. the extrovert in me is baffled by the whole sitting around thinking about my own thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

